Donald D. Williford, Ph.D.

Dean of Logsdon Seminary and School of Theology

Professor of New Testament
Logsdon Seminary and School of Theology

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
HSU Box 16235

Donald D. Williford is Dean of the Logsdon School of Theology and Logsdon Seminary at Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene, Texas.  He is a graduate of Howard Payne University in Brownwood, Texas, where he earned the Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education with teaching fields in Mathematics and Physical Education.  He completed his graduate studies at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth, Texas, receiving the Master of Divinity and the Doctor of Philosophy in New Testament Studies.  Dr. Williford is completing his twentieth year on the faculty of the Hardin-Simmons University where he has served in numerous capacities in addition to his teaching.  He served two years as Church Relations Director of Hardin-Simmons University, seven years as Associate Provost, one year as Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs, and one year as Interim Dean of the Logsdon School of Theology and Logsdon Seminary prior to his appointment as Dean on June 1, 2011.  Prior to joining the faculty of Hardin-Simmons University, Dr. Williford served as the Pastor of First Baptist Church of Brownwood, Texas for ten years.  His work experience also includes serving as Pastor of First Baptist Church of Eldorado, Texas and as Associate Pastor of Birdville Baptist Church of Fort Worth, Texas.  Dr. Williford has also served as Interim Pastor of more than a dozen churches, including First Baptist Church of Abilene.  He has also served on numerous commissions and committees of the Baptist General Convention of Texas.

Degrees Earned

Bachelor of Science (Secondary Education) Howard Payne University 1970

Master of Divinity Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary 1974

Doctor of Philosophy (New Testament Studies and Greek) Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary 1981


HSU Administration

Lanny Hall, Ph.D., President
Thomas V. Brisco, Ph.D., Provost, Chief Academic Officer
Vicki House, M.B.A.,
Vice-President for Enrollment Management
Mike Hammack, M.B.A., Executive Director of Institutional Advancement
Harold Preston, M.B.A., Senior Vice-President for Finance, Chief Operations Officer
Dave Rozeboom, Ph.D., Senior Vice-President for Student Development

Seminary Trustee Advisory Board

Dr. Brent Gentzel, Kaufman
Mrs. Tina Hunter, Abilene, Chair
Dr. Jerry Joplin
, Lubbock
Mrs. Leigh King, Abilene
Rev. Joe Martinez, Houston
Mrs. Norma Schaffer, Abilene
Dr. Glen Schmucker, Fair Oaks Ranch

Logsdon Seminary Administration and Staff

Don Williford, Ph.D., Dean of Logsdon Seminary & School of Theology
Penny Gammill, A.A., Administrative Assistant to the Dean

Robert R. Ellis
, Ph.D.
, Associate Dean of Academics
Rosie Hollingsworth, M.M.A., Assistant to the Associate Dean of Academics

Ken Lyle, Jr.
, Ph.D.
, Director of the Master of Divinity Program
Randall Maurer, Ph.D., Director of Master of Arts in Family Ministry Program
Larry Baker, Th.D., Director of Doctor of Ministry Program
Omer Hancock, Th.D., Financial Officer and Director of University In-Service Training
James Stone, M.Div., Director of Placement and Congregational Resourcing
Daniel Martin, B.B.S., Coordinator for Student Services and Admissions

Copyright 2010 | Hardin-Simmons University's Logsdon Seminary